My new adventure

Hi readers,

I never did get around to making a final post about my China trip. I didn’t tell you about my missed flight on Christmas Eve to Manila, about duets with Reynato, about drinks with new girlfriends on Christmas. And I never got to mention my horribly delayed flight to Thailand, my time spent with wonderful new friends, nor did I mention my last night at a rooftop bar in Bangkok. But let’s not dwell in the past, shall we?

I just arrived back in Thailand today after finishing my last semester at University of Arizona. I have the privilege of subbing with the Thailand Philharmonic Orchestra through the rest of their season in September, with possibility of extending my contract if we both decide that we are a good fit. I also get to teach some lessons, chamber music, and possibly reedmaking at Mahidol University. I spent the last 25 days buying everything I will need to get started, gouging cane, finishing grad school, and spending time with friends and family. It’s been a little hectic.

To muse just a little, I actually thought for a while that I would be staying in Tucson and putting Oboist Unbound to rest for the time being. But the title for this blog is in some ways an acknowledgement of this innate part of myself that craves adventure, so it makes sense that when I got this offer I said yes without hesitation. I’m not saying that it wasn’t hard for me to leave. I was a crying mess going through security. (And yeah, maybe on the plane too, but that one’s on the Chinese film industry.) But I felt fate calling me here, so that’s that. Thailand it is.

In any case, I know I will love it in Salaya (the suburb that the university and orchestra are located in, about an hour out from Bangkok). I already have friends in Cooper (the first oboist in the orchestra), Namju, and their dog Kahti. I’ll be staying with them for a bit while I get on my feet, which I’m thankful for. I’m excited about the orchestra too– we’re playing some great rep! There are some really prominent english horn solos too (Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G and Dvorak’s 9th Symphony in one concert later in the season, for any oboists reading this to faint over.) And this college teaching gig is going to be phenomenal on my resume. I mean, I’m really glad that I’m going to be spending some time teaching anyway. But at 24, the resume needs attending to.

That’s all I have to write about for now. Tomorrow I’m watching large ensemble auditions, opening a bank account here, checking out an on-campus produce stand with Namju, and playing my first rehearsal in the evening. I got a break today, but tomorrow it’s time to work.

Leave a Reply

