So what the heck did I pack for this trip?

This is no ordinary packing list, people. I had to pack for temperatures ranging from 10 degrees (Fahrenheit) in Inner Mongolia to 90 degrees in Thailand. I had to pack a floor length dress and heels for the 12-concert tour. And I had to pack an extra oboe as I am making a delivery to a friend in Bangkok. Luckily, this is more of a suitcase trip than a backpacking trip, so I had plenty of room to fit everything and a few luxuries.

IMG_2763.JPG

Clothes:
Peacoat
Thin down vest
Fleece
7 t-shirts
1 camisole
1 pair of corduroys
1 long skirt
1 miniskirt
2 pairs of leggings
1 set of running clothes (the shorts double as pajamas)
1 floor length dress
8 pairs of underwear
8 pairs of socks
1 bra
Bathing suit

Accessories:
Scarf
Hat
Gloves
Running shoes
Heels
Sandals
Goggles
Theft-proof backpack for my oboe
Theft-proof sling purse

Toiletries:
Toothbrush
Toothpaste
Shampoo, conditioner and body soap in 3 ounce containers
1 razor (my body hair trimming needs are few)
My essential make-up duo: liquid eyeliner and mascara
Deodorant
Bobby pins
Vaseline
Comb
Pads and tampons
Toilet paper (it’s BYOTP in this part of the world)

Medicine:
Pepto Bismol tablets (since bringing this, Matt has informed that Immodium is actually what I was supposed to bring for any food poisoning incidents. Live and learn.)
DayQuil and NyQuil
Inhaler
Liquid Bandage (a must-have for musicians)
Condoms and Plan B (not planning on putting them to use, but I think it’s important to highlight that you never know and that you really don’t want to wander a foreign country looking for contraceptives)

Electronics:
Tablet
Kindle
Video camera
iPhone
Headphones
Appropriate chargers
Plug adaptor

Music stuff:
Sheet music
Oboe x2
Baby food jar (for soaking reeds)
Reed tools
Tying tools
Reed lamp (yes, as you can see, I brought a lamp. Absolutely essential for reedmaking.)

Miscellaneous:
Luggage lock x2
U-lock (I’m feel extra paranoid about the second oboe)
Journal
Small notebook to write down Chinese phrases
Four packing cubes (for tops, bottoms, athletic clothes and socks/underwear)

IMG_2764.PNG

So that’s everything, packed into a small suitcase and backpack! I hope to make everything more compact in the future, but for this trip I’m okay with the amount of stuff I brought. Packing light is always a work in progress.

Leave a Reply

